Ad Blocking DNS Blacklist

Since I run my own nameservers for computers and devices on my network, I can DNS blacklist pretty easily to remove ads. I understand there are other services such as Open DNS that do this as well, although I haven’t tried it yet. Since it was important to me to be able to eliminate annoying popups and website ads from all devices using any software, I decided to go this route instead of software like Adblock Plus. It took awhile to generate a comprehensive listing of most agencies that serve ads, but here is what I use. So far, it’s working wonderfully.

To enable this, I created zones (I became the primary DNS namespace) for the following domains. They all resolve to my local server (so there isn’t a timeout issue), but no HTTP service is running. My list is as follows:

2mdn.com
2o7.net
33universal.com
adbrite.com
adbureau.net
adsonar.com
advertising.com
atdmt.com
atwola.com
buysellads.com
chitika.net
clickz.com
com.com
coremetrics.com
criteo.com
disqus.com
dotomi.com
doubleclick.net
fastclick.net
flashtalking.com
googleadservices.com
google-analytics.com
googlesyndication.com
googletagservices.com
hitbox.com
intellitxt.com
ixiaa.com
kontera.com
mediaplex.com
newsinc.com
quantserve.com
questionmarket.com
revsci.net
rfihub.com
tacoda.net
tribalfusion.com
vindicosuite.com
zedo.com

Leave a Reply

