Cape Cod 2014 (Canon 16-35mm f/4 IS USM Review)

A quick photo post from a recent vacation to Cape Cod using the Canon 16-35mm f/4L IS USM.  I rented the lens from BorrowLenses after watching some extremely helpful reviews from DigitalRevTV (Hands-on Review and Taiwan Special).   After four days of taking pictures, I found myself preferring the 16-35mm f/4 over the 24-70mm f/2.8L USM I rented for Sakura-Con.   The image stabilization significantly reduced the number of slightly out of focus images and the f/4 was great for all the outdoor pictures.  The lighting for most of the images was either full sun or partly cloudy which was excellent.

The lens did underperform when it came to some indoor and early evening shots (low light).  Based on the DigitalRev review, I also took my 50mm f/1.4 along when f/4 wasn’t pulling in enough light even with high ISO (800 is the maximum I’m willing to go on the Canon XSi).

I’m leaning towards renting this lens again for more cosplay photography, but I’m curious how it will do with convention hall lighting. I didn’t find my using the high f-stops of the 24-70mm often during the convention, so I’m not worried about losing them.  Canon also makes a 16-35mm f/2.8 II USM that might be worth considering, but I would miss the benefit of image stabilization.

– Amani

Leave a Reply

